Our aim is to tell the rich history of Bankfoot House by preserving and researching the site, buildings and its collection and making this accessible to all.
Bankfoot House enjoys a picturesque location alongside the Old Gympie Road in Queensland’s Glass House Mountains. Established in 1868 as a roadside accommodation house on the new road from Brisbane to the Gympie gold rush, it is the oldest surviving building in the Glass House Mountains. Bankfoot House is steeped in family history. The Grigor, Burgess and Ferris families occupied the house in succession. The Sunshine Coast Council, in conjunction with the Friends of Bankfoot House Inc., continues to develop Bankfoot House as a partnership heritage initiative.
Challenge your local history knowledge with our lessons. Find out what the Friends of Bankfoot House are up to, and join in. Keep up-to-date with developments at Bankfoot House. Watch us grow.
The Friends of Bankfoot House have compiled a booklet entitled ‘Bankfoot House - a journey through time'. The booklet contains many photos from the Bankfoot House Collection and traces the history of the Grigor, Burgess and Ferris families through their 135 year association with the heritage-listed house.
The booklet is available for sale from the Friends of Bankfoot House Inc. at $10 plus postage. Contact [email protected] to arrange to purchase a copy. Alternatively contact a member of the management committee listed in the Friends' Newsletters.
Bankfoot House signage [PDF]